A pinch and a punch – a new lens for the month

FD mount goodness

It’s the first of June today, the first day of Winter. This time my awesome magical powers that enable me to make things I want materialize at my favorite shop when I am hunting have failed me. Instead of some tasty Nikkor glass (see my last post), my magic has brought forth the following:

  • Canon FD 70-210mm f4 zoom in nigh-on perfect condition;
  • Super Albinon MC 28mm f2.8 prime (in FD mount);
  • Zykkor Super Wide 0.42x wide angle converted, already fitted with a series VII to 52 mm adapter, complete with original caps and case; and
  • half-a-dozen original FD mount end, body and lens caps, and some quality 52mm filters including a Hoya polarizer.

The zoom and the prime are both “macro” lenses, with close focusing abilities. They all have their JCII inspection stickers in place and intact too. Oh well, I guess I will have to try harder for Nikon next time.

Look at the condition of the glass – simply beautiful. The Zykkor makes a 28mm a circular (weird) fisheye. All this for twenty bucks. I already have a beautiful condition AE-1 with a gorgeous 50mm f1.8 FD waiting to mount these beauties. This classic cost me $10 for the lens and body a year or two ago from the same place. I’ve said it before and I’m going to say it again – I’m just a lucky guy.

3 comments

  1. Although the AE-1P I have is my ex-wife’s, I still regret the day I sold my Canon 70-210/4. Such a beautiful lens. While not brilliant as a macro lens, it did the job quite admirably.

Leave a Reply

